Maths Terms – English to Portuguese and Spanish Translations

November has been a busy month. I began teaching the “Quantitative Methods” module of the Association of Business Executives’ Diploma in Marketing Management. The course is facilitated by The Learning Institute based in Bohermore. All the students in the class come from either Brazil or Mexico. I was a little concerned about how well we would understand each other at first as I did not know what proficiency they had in English. I certainly have none in Spanish or Portuguese. I need not have worried as they all have good English.

But as a precaution I followed the same process as I had used previously to produce a list of English to Irish translations. As a result there is now an English-Spanish and an English-Portuguese document with about 1300 maths terms and phrases. Again they are very much a work in progress and no doubht contain many errors as translation by google robots is far from perfect. None-the-less they may be a valuable first step for anyone looking for such translations.

The documents can be accessed at:

English-Portuguese Maths Dictionary

English-Spanish Maths Dictionary

Feel free to email corrections to mymathsclass@gmail.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment